Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two, spoiler free, “teaser” sentences
  • Share the title & author
“We stare into each other’s blazing eyes for a moment, then he catches my face in both hands and kisses me hard. The explosion of heat and hunger between us takes me over and all I can do is kiss him back.” (p. 168, eBook). 
From Blank Slate Kate by Heather Wardell.
6 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday

  1. OK, it’s not just two sentences:

    “I’ve been waiting all night for someone to introduce me, but no one has,” he said. “So I thought I would be bold enough to approach you on my own. I’m Romar Brendyn. I believe you’re Casserah Danalustrous.”
    He took her hand and bowed, his dark blond hair tumbling around his shoulders. When he straightened, he gave her a very direct look, making no attempt to hide his curiosity.
    She did not allow her hand to rest in his, though she wanted to. She was concentrating very hard on being Casserah. “I am,” she said cooly. “Next you will tell me some tale of your great friendship with my sister.”
    He almost laughed. “I would, except I sense such a comment might be unwelcome.”
    “It’s practically the only conversation I’ve had all night.”
    “Would you rather I reviled her? That’s not usually how I introduce myself to relatives of people I know, but I can try to accommodate.”
    Kirra was amused; Casserah would have been, too.

    [Context of this passage: Kirra, a high-ranking woman with controversial magical powers has taken on the appearance of her reclusive sister to shore up political alliances during the social season. Turning a corner at a ball, she is surprised by the man she is infatuated with.]
    Book Title: The Thirteenth House (second novel of the Twelve Houses series, after Mystic and Rider)
    Author: Sharon Shinn (a fantasy author with marked tendencies towards romance)

Leave a Reply

