Happy Blog-iversary!

Bitch Lit is celebrating one year of posts today! Last year I decided to take my classroom experience from two years ago and develop my growing passion for chick lit. I never expected that one 12 week class would change my perspective and become so important to me that I would pursue it not only personally but academically. I’m proud of what this blog has accomplished and would like to share with you some of my thoughts about the last year and what my hopes are for the future of Bitch Lit.

A Matter of Pride

Reading: Since beginning this project I have a new passion for reading. Growing up I was passionate about reading. I remember keep flashlights under my pillow so that I could read under the covers once my parents turned the lights out. But somewhere along the way reading turned into a chore. It was something I had to do for school and I was in school so much I figured my vacations were meant for turning my brain off. I realize now that this was ridiculous! I have a new perspective on reading non-school related material and look forward to a different student experience as I go back to class this year.

Community: The chick lit blog-o-sphere is amazing! I am blown away by the amount of people who love chick lit and want to stand up for it. Bloggers, readers, authors, and editors are just some of the fascinating people I have met through Bitch Lit. I can’t thank them enough for all their wisdom and advice from their own experiences!

Writing: Book blogging has taught me to be generous, patient, and measured in how I discuss an authors work. This comes, in part, due to the interactions I have had with authors of most of the books I have reviewed on Bitch Lit this year. I have found that blog writing can be difficult enough (developing topics, making time, editing..etc) let alone the undertaking a novel would be and so I appreciate the effort that goes into writing books and think that I should return in kind.

Things That Need Improving 

Content: I love writing reviews and will continue to do so, however, I have always meant to write more analytic articles. Because I haven’t been writing these kind of articles I have noticed that sometimes my reviews wander down that road. I don’t think this is bad exactly, but I struggle to keep reviews concise due to my desire to also evaluate a novel. In this way it will be important to start writing articles that evaluate themes and issues within certain books as well as the overall genre of chick lit and women’s literature. (Expect more posts like this simply because I will be an English student this year!)

Posting Schedule: It is disappointing that I have made so few posts over all this year. There were months where nothing was posted. I “committed” myself to NaBloPoMo in August and posted every day for only two weeks instead of the full month. And now that I am enrolled a full time student I am worried about where my posts are going to go. Bottom line is, I have commitment issues that need to be resolved. When it comes to writing, I have a tendency to do it only when I feel like or when I am on an externally imposed deadline. This has to change for many reasons but most importantly for this blog to survive another year I have to learn to dedicate myself to a blogging schedule. This will not only help me but help you, my readers, keep up to date.

So, there you have it. One year of Bitch Lit! Let me know what you think! Are there posts you want to see more of? Have a suggestion? Just love chick lit? I want to hear from you!

Thanks for reading and all your support!

2 thoughts on “Happy Blog-iversary!

  1. Hi there! Thanks for stopping by my blog. While our genres are pretty different, it sounds like we’re dealing with a lot of the same challenges and divisiveness when it comes to trying to reconcile what we like with out politics. Looking forward to reading more from you!

Leave a Reply

