“That’s When I Let Love Slip Away”: Something Borrowed Trailer

For the last two weeks I have been so busy with work that I haven’t had a moment to breathe…until yesterday!  Somehow in my sleeping in, enjoying a single day of spring weather before the snow flies again, curry eating, West Wing watching, Spousal Appreciation Day ecstasy, I managed to remember that the trailer for Something Borrowed was released a couple of days ago!

I am both really excited and really nervous about this movie.  I’m afraid that I’m going to be one of “those book people.”  You know, those people that are never happy with the movie adaptation because the book was So. Much. Better!  Since the last 5 years of my life has been taken up with academic reading and very little (read: ZERO) personal reading I feel like I have had little opportunity to be one of “those book people” so this is new to me.  But I’m trying it on and finding that I’m already upset that Ethan (John Krasinski) is living in New York instead of England and that the trailer suggests that Rachel (Ginnifer Goodwin) has always believed that she gave up the love of her life Dex (Colin Egglesfield) to Darcy (Kate Hudson).

Weirdly enough my reservations about the trailer has made me latch onto the book even more than I did after reading it.  Anyway, all my apprehension aside, I think the movie has potential and looks good.  I have a place in my heart for Darcy and I think there is a delightful mix of bratiness and humanity that will come out of her character in the film.

Something Borrowed is set for release on May 6th, 2011.

6 thoughts on ““That’s When I Let Love Slip Away”: Something Borrowed Trailer

  1. I just realized you commented in response to mine, Ms Christine.

    I will read “Something Borrowed”…next? I’ve got a book or two on the go atm (one you need to read, btw)–It will be done before the movie, though! 🙂

  2. I cannot wait for this movie!!! CANNOT WAIT! But you make a good point…I too was really annoyed byt he whole premise between Rachel and Dex. I mean the book touched on that Rachel may have had a passing thought about Dex; but there was no inclination that he secretly in love with her before the 30th b-day blowout night…I’m hoping they are just playing up Ethan’s character in this first one so that Something Blue can be filmed right after:)

Leave a Reply

