Bridesmaids Trailer Illustrates that Not All Women are Born with Wedding Planning Brain Chip.

I am already on board for this movie due to three things:

  1. Kristen Wiig
  2. Maya Rudoulph
  3. Skeptical and Sarcastic View of the Wedding Industrial Complex (WIC).
  4. Large Female Cast
  5. Jon Hamm

Ok, that was five things.

Although Bridesmaids looks a bit like The Hangover for chicks, I like that this film is taking on the absurdity of the Wedding Industrial Complex (a term I learned from Indiebride.com) with a cast of smart and hilarious women.  Most wedding films provide stories about women who all seem to have been implanted with a Wedding Planning Brain Chip which honestly, I felt like I was lacking when it came to being a bridesmaid in others weddings or even planning my own! This cast of bridesmaids seem to have their own ideas about weddings, being married or single, and generally just seem to be trying to survive through the planning of this event.  Trust me, wine is part of the wedding emergency kit!

Bridesmaids opens May 13, 2011.

2 thoughts on “Bridesmaids Trailer Illustrates that Not All Women are Born with Wedding Planning Brain Chip.

  1. Just so you know, I also expect tanned gentlemen that swallow fire and wear sarongs for my eventual bachelor(ette?) party.

Leave a Reply

