Book Review: Something Borrowed

Over the holidays (which seems forever ago now) I received a Sony eBook Reader and promptly downloaded several books to it.  The first of which was Emily Giffin’s Something Borrowed.

Something Borrowed opens with Rachel turning 30 years old.  She is a lawyer who hates her job and is single.  Her 30th birthday isn’t shaping up to be what she imaged back in the 5th grade when she and her best friend Darcy looked up what day their 30th birthdays would fall on.  Rachel and Darcy have known each other most of their lives.  Rachel is the brainy, quiet, plain one who never seems to get what she wants; while Darcy is the beautiful, charismatic, life of the party one who seems to always gets what she wants.  In other words, they are opposites in every way yet are best friends.

Everything is flipped upsides down, however, once Rachel sleeps with Dex, Darcy’s fiance.

This happens in the first chapter of the book and I have to admit, I was furious.  How does a woman do that to her best friend? Rachel is Darcy’s Maid of Honor for crying out loud! They’ve been friends since the fourth grade! What a Bitch!

Then I thought, if I’m that worked up after the first chapter, than maybe there is something here. I was sucked in and couldn’t put the book down.  The rest of the story follows Rachel through the summer leading up to Darcy and Dex’s wedding and her struggle with emerging feelings for Dex and his apparent return of those feelings.  But I think the most important aspect of the story is Rachel’s relationship with Darcy. Much of her time is spent recalling scenarios both good and bad from their 20-some year friendship.  I found myself both wanting to chastise Rachel for her actions while also relating to her feelings of inadequacy and silent comparativeness with Darcy.

Something Borrowed is a complex and engrossing narrative about friendship.  I enjoyed this book so much that I quickly moved on to the next book in Giffin’s series, Something Blue, which picks up Darcy’s story from where Something Borrowed ends.  Although I am not as thrilled with Something Blue, I still enjoyed that the book was less about Darcy’s relationship with men and far more so about her relationship with Rachel.  These books are a good companion to one another as they explore the unique relationship between women who have known each other since they were children and how growing up together can sometimes leave people entrenched in notions of who each other are.  Something Borrowed and Something Blue are about women learning who they are before they can truly know who the other is.

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Something Borrowed

  1. How funny, I just received this book today through the post – I am reading it for a book group that has just been set up. This is our first title, so thanks for the review. It looks like a great read.

  2. I loved these ones, and I remember hating that the second book was from Darcy’s point of view, as I really disliked her. I used to work at a bookstore and I would always ask the women if they liked Darcy and (since the answer was usually no) I would tell them that even though the second book focuses on her they’ll come around and appreciate her more. Have you read any of her others yet? I loved loved loved “Love the One You’re With” (the green one.)

    1. I plan on posting about Rachel and Darcy’s friendship in the near future. As I mentioned in the review I think the most important aspect of these books was their relationship. I enjoyed how, by reading both books, it was difficult to vilify one or the other and instead I think the books explored the multifaceted relationship between both women.

      I haven’t had a change to read any more of Giffin’s books but I do look forward to them as they sound just as refreshingly complex.

Leave a Reply

